Birdapres – Alumni (1998)

38085221_2117636275223899_1953796406955212800_n (3)

RR: Last time we spoke it was regarding Egocide. In which you said Discogs had the dates incorrect, stating that Egocide was dropped in 98, and the RKV 12” was in 96. Discogs currently has Alumni dropped in 98, however with no artwork to be found, it’s hard to verify. What was the date on this one? And how did it fit in chronologically with your other releases?

Birdapres: Alumni came out in 98, It was some super basement, home dubbed on a dual cassette deck thing i released out of a bunch of demos I had kicking around. I had moved back from Toronto after living there for a half a year.

RR: You have a track on here with Len “Life Unquestioned”. Were you rocking with the whole Cryptik Souls Crew at this time? Were you already connected to Moves?

Birdapres: Life Unquestioned was recorded with MCKenzie and Marc when I was sleeping on the couch at the Len crib in Toronto. I brought Len up to Stylistik Endeavors to hang with CSC around the end of 97. I hadn’t met Moves at this point, he was in Halifax. I linked with Criptik through Moka Only and the graffiti writer Insight.

RR: There’s a skit on here on the phone with a guy named Duane talking about your arrival in Toronto which starts by saying “Yo, my man Birdapres needs a job.” Who was Duane, and what “job” were you trying to get? 

Birdapres: Duane was calling into the Stylistik Endeavours radio show while we were rocking on the air and I recorded it. I spent a lot of time up there over the years.

RR: Do you have any stories with putting this tape together? 

Birdapres: When I moved back to Vancouver I just collected a bunch of stuff and dubbed tapes at home and sold them hand to hand or at FWUH and Complex.

 

Leave a comment